randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Snowed In!

on February 13, 2013

house

I hope everyone survived the storm and has adjusted to living with massive amounts of snow piles. I am indeed going crazy not being able to run outside and have turned to the dreaded treadmill for my workouts.

Sure I see people out running dodging snow, ice, and cars, but I am just too scared. One of the reasons I run is to relax and zone out. Having to worry about getting run over and face planting doesn’t allow for the relaxing time, so until then I will be on the tredmill.

Don’t get me wrong I LOVE the gym, with my background in fitness I think it is a requirement to love the gym. I love lifting and working up a good sweat, but for running, I prefer the road. There is nothing better than getting out and just running and taking in your surroundings.

Because I always try to take a positive spin on things, and if I ask myself one more time why I live in New England??? I reflect on what I have done to keep things interesting over the last few days to make up for my very boring tredmill runs.

I have been tackling down a solid lifting program to complement my running schedule. As mentioned, I love the gym and lifting but when training for halfs and fulls, the lifting has to take a back seat. I think I am zoned in to a great schedule that allows me to still get in my lifting without completely destroying my body for long runs and races.  Currently I broke down my lifting into 3 days: Upper, Abs, and Lower, generally it falls on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday The week before and after a race, just a light cardio schedule and lifting goes away. Not really rocket science, right? But it has helped me get a focused schedule going.

As always please consult with your doctor and ensure you are able to perform this lift. Ask a trainer at your local gym for tips and technique if you are not sure.

  • Tried out a new Protein Powder! I don’t want to get into too much nutrition on this blog, but will be happy to share things I have tried and enjoy. Nothing I share I encourage you try without taking into consideration your own health and wellness goals. I drink 1-2 protein shakes a day, generally post workout or as an easy snack on the go. I mix the protein with water, but have wanted to spice the same ol’ protein up a little, so I started with a new protein powder…Pea Protein, yes you read that correctly and who knew peas were so high in protein! Overall I am enjoying it, but I think I will go back to Whey after this container is gone. I have been experimenting with different add ins such as strawberries, oats and cocoa powder. More to come on my shake adventures soon…
  • I have been thinking that I need to get better about updating RandomThoughtRunning (RTR) and set the goal of at least 2 posts per week…I can do it!

So what have you been doing to keep busy with this snow?

Run On-

Leave a Reply

