randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Smoothies and More

on February 20, 2013

Hope everyone had a good weekend and I realize I am saying this on Wednesday when it’s nearly the weekend again!

I had some great visits with friends and family and overall enjoyed my weekend. I got 7 miles in on Saturday morning, which was nice to finally get back outside, but unfortunately it was like ice skating more than running and really a slow run. Oh well! I did get outside this morning, which felt great. I will hit up the elliptical tomorrow and then its rest time before the Half on Saturday. Can’t wait!

I did attempt a few smoothies as mentioned before and have been adjusting to my new protein. Before I start, my smoothie craze has started because each year I give up coffee/tea/hot chocolate for Lent. I steer clear of all coffee shops for 40 LONG DAYS. So to fill the void each morning I make smoothies, while they are nowhere near the same as delicious as a Soy Mocha, they hold me over. So back to my new protein and smoothie recipes.

I decided to try something new on my last order of supplements. I primarily order from bodybuilding.com, I am in no way shape or form a body builder, but they have great prices, tons of variety in flavors of protein, and you can’t beat the shipping. I generally have an order at my door within 2 pays of placing it. I also like shopping with bodybuilder.com because I am not a fan of GNC and other chain supplement shops. I don’t have anything against them, but I just know what I want and don’t want to be bothered by the salespeople who are always trying to up sell me on something “better” than what I am buying. I have a background in Fitness and do a ton of reading on what’s “out there” in the supplement world, so I feel I have a pretty good handle on what I take.  I digress, but really check out bodybuilding.com!

I decided to try Pea Protein, yup you read that correctly and surprisingly its pretty good. I have been taking hydro whey for that last 2+ years and while I have no problems with it, I have read about Pea Protein and its easy digestion while still reaping the protein benefits. Here is the description from the Olympia Labs website:

“Pea Protein is a natural, vegetable-based protein powder derived from yellow peas (Pisum  ativum). Yellow peas are more commonly known as “split peas” and are used extensively in food preparation such as in soups and purees. Pea Protein is ideal for vegans, offers an excellent nutritional profile. Vanilla & Chocolate Flavor. “

So far I have had a good experience with it, it is very thick and a little less sweet than I am used to. I ordered the chocolate flavor which I regret slightly as I feel like I could add a lot more things if I had the vanilla flavor.  I don’t have any complaints or dislike besides the amount you can order. There are only 30 servings in a container, which for me only lasts about 2 weeks. I generally like ordering a 2-3lbs at a time, so I am not paying for shipping every other week.  Here are the smoothies I have made so far:

Choco-Peanut Butter Smoothie

1 scoop Olympia Labs Chocolate Pea Protein

1 tbsp flax seed

1 tbsp Teddy Natural PB

3-4 ice cubes

1c water

Aprox ¼ cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

Pinch of Guar and Xanthum Gum

I found precut frozen strawberries and bananas by Dole in the grocery store which have been great for quick assembly in the morning for this next smoothie, pretty plain and simple

Strawbanana Smoothie

1 scoop Olympia Labs Chocolate Pea Protein

1 tbsp flax seed

1 c frozen bananas & strawberries

3-4 Ice cubes

½ cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

¾ cup water

This next one was a reach, but I actually enjoyed it. I get teased because of my love for sweet potatoes, so when my Husband saw me making this, I think he finally accepted that I am crazy for sweet potatoes. I might omit the nutmeg tomorrow but still tasty

Sweet Potato Smoothie

½ cooked sweet potato (I left the skin on for an extra fiber boost)

1 c greek non fat yogurt

dash of cinnamon and nutmeg

1 c water

Agave nectar for sweetening

So far that is all in my smoothie quest, I have to note that most of these recipes were adapted from other bloggers, I love reading peoples recipes and attempting my own version with tweeks here and there. One of my favorites is heandsheeatclean.com, check it out, they put these few recipes to shame!

Run On-

3 responses to “Smoothies and More

  1. Sarah here! Love the sound of the choco-peanut Butter Smoothie…definitely gonna try it out 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by, chocolate and peanut butter are my favorite!

  3. […] my family grouped together and all went in on Vita-mix Turboblend Two Speed. You may remember my Smoothie Quest during Lent and I continue to make smoothies to get a boost of fruits and veggies in one hit. Was […]

Leave a Reply

