randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Need for Speed

on March 26, 2013

speed

After a few busy days in Atlantic City I am back into the groove of things…kinda. A few unhealthy days of eating and drinking really knock me for a loop. I did manage to get a walk on the beach in and at least get my heart rate up a little, but really was kicking myself I didn’t bring my running gear to get a nice jaunt on the boardwalk in.beach

To reset myself  when I got back, I got on the dreaded treadmill and did a great interval workout. As mostly someone who runs for distance, I think mixing in speed work every now and then is good. While training for Chicago this past summer, I began mixing it in and really saw a difference. My only struggle is doing speed work outside. I don’t have many areas where I don’t have to cross traffic so, I head to the treadmill.

This workout may seem pretty straightforward, but sometimes all I need is to see someone else write it out for me and I am inspired!

3 min warm up @ 3.5/4 and incline at 0

3 min @ 5.5 and incline at 2

3 min @ 7.2 and incline at 2.5

3 min @ 5.5 and incline at 2

3 min @ 7.2 and incline at 3.5

3 min @ 5.5 and incline at 0

3 min @ 7.4 and incline at 1.5

3 min @ 5.5 and incline at 0

3 min @ 7.4 and incline at 1.5

3 min @ 5.5 and incline at 2

3 min @ 7.2 and incline at 3.5

3 min cool down @ 3.5/4 and incline at 0

Adjust as needed, but you want to be out of your comfort zone on those working intervals. Enjoy!

This workout really helped reset me after the crazy weekend,  and a nice change to my usual distance running, but tomorrow…Back to the road!

Run On-

One response to “Need for Speed

  1. […] to wake up muscles I may not use on a regular basis. I wrote something similar awhile back about speed work, but here is what my week is looking like as far as workouts just in case you are looking for some […]

Leave a Reply

