randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Fuelin’ Up

on April 1, 2013
source:dimedigger.com

source:dimedigger.com

I may have had one too many Rum and Cokes last night, so this mornings run was a bit fuzzy and reminded me of how NOT to fuel up for a run. On days I am not randomly drinking on a Sunday night, my fuel for running is pretty basic. I eat a balanced diet and try to avoid processed foods, I don’t eat a ton of carbs which can be tricky for long runs, but do my best to up the carbs a day or two before real long runs.

Daily fuel before a workout is a glass of water and 1/3 of a Cliff Bar. Yup, I cut a Cliff bar into 3 pieces and have one each morning. I am an early morning workout person, so I am not hungry when I wake up, but know I need to eat something to get the metabolism going, so 1 piece and I am good to go!

Long Run Fuel (10+ miles) includes a slice of bread with with 2 tbsp of peanut butter and a glass of water. I try to eat this about 30 minutes before I run, unlike my daily fuel where I can just grab a bite and be out the door running, I need things to digest a little before  getting out on the road. I also have broken down and bought a fuel bel (Nathan Speed 2: http://www.nathansports.com/our-products/hydrationnutrition/racespeed-series/speed-2), so I have 2 bottles of water with me as well. I can’t say I love my water belt, it leaks alot, but after lasts years really hot summer and the many times of driving the course before running it to hide water in the bushes, the belt does have its benefits. I try to drink a sip of water every 20 minutes or so. When it does get hot, I will add half gatorade, half water to the bottles. Bloks_blkcherry-12-10As for eating, I love Cherry Clif Shot Blocks (by the way I am not spokesperson for Clif Bar, just happened to like their products!) they come 6 in a pack and generally 2 throughout a run holds me over. I will eat one each hour depending on how hungry I get. For really long runs(20+ miles), I will add a Gu into the mix. Some are grossed out by Gu, but this stuff is my favorite, if I could eat it on a daily basis I would, the chocolate flavor taste like cake batter, and really does give me an extra boost when my energy starts to dwindle.

Race Day Fuel is pretty much the same as long run fuel, but depending on the time of the race from when I get up, I will space out my PB sandwich and add in a banana for a little extra potassium.

Post Run Fuel is my biggest struggle, as crazy it is to think that I am NOT hungry after running for a few hours, I am not. I have no appetite for at least an hour after a long run. I know I need to eat so I will drink a protein shake or glass of chocolate milk to get something in my stomach. Fast forward to an hour after I am done and I am STARVING! This was my biggest mistake when I first started long distance running, I would run a train through my kitchen eating everything and I actually GAINED weight after my first marathon. I have now learned from my mistakes and eat a balanced meal with protein and carbs, usually chicken breast and brown rice or quinoa with some salsa is my go to.

Of course this is what works for me, and I definitely urge you to eat what works for you. This may take some trial and error, thats what training is for. As important as it is to get the miles in, it is also important to practice your fuel. Once you have found what does work well, keep with it, no point in trying a new adventurous dish the night before a race!

What fuels you?

Run On-

Leave a Reply

