randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

What am I doing Wednesdays?!?

on April 10, 2013

what

I thought it was about time for another addition of What am I doing Wednesday? The other day a trainer at my gym told me he is determined to have me change my routine, while I was a little frustrated that he would say such a thing ( I never do the same thing at the gym, and most times I am running outside, so how would he know???), I did take a few minutes to think about ways to change things up. My 13, 13.1 goal proves to be challenging in bringing new exercises or challenges into the mix. I am running a half marathon about every two weeks, not allowing for much time for fun new exercises. With that in mind, I have decided to bring back a little more of the cross fit style workouts and focus on the timing of these workouts in regards to my races.

  • I am registered to participate in Tough Mudder Boston this June and thought this would be the perfect event to force me to work outside of my normal scheduled runs. From what I have read and heard from past participants, its going to be tough (no pun intended) and a lot of upper body strength is needed. As someone who depends on primarily their legs for their workouts, this will be new to me. I am determined to do one unassisted pull up by June. Yes, you read that correctly, I cannot do a pull up at the moment, but come June 2nd, just you wait! Here is how I am working on it:
    •  3 sets of assisted Pull Ups: 10 reps using 100lbs assistance, 8 reps using 80lbs assistance, and 6 rounds using  60lbs of assistance. I weight about 150, while it may not seem like a major challenge to some, it is working great for me!
    • I then head to the pull up bar and hang for 20 seconds focusing on grip strength, followed by 10 seconds rest. I repeat two more times, for a minute and half. 

      ◦  Last year, push ups were not my friend, I was able to do a few but nothing I was proud of. Similar to this years pull up goal, I set out to complete 50 push ups, which I accomplished and continue to bring them into my workouts all the time. I never get sick of them! For my Tough Mudder workouts, I have added a walk out/in push up. Basically standing tall, bend forward placing your hands on the floor, walk yourself out to push up position, perform a push up, and walk yourself back up to standing position. Repeat for 3 sets of 10. 

      I also mix in various Biceps, Triceps, and Back exercises, but these 3 exercises have been my focus and will be for the next few weeks.

  • I am bringing back foam rolling once a week into my routine. I know I should do it more, but I know I will set myself up to fail if I try to do it more than that in a week. If you have not tried foam rolling, you will feel pain, ALOT of pain, but it does work in rolling out those extra tight spots. My massage therapist encourages me to foam roll every muscle possible, while I wish I had the time to do this, I find the most useful foam rolling for runners is IT Band, Glutes, and Quads. Of course this is all dependant on your flexibility, but for me I make sure I at least hit those 3 areas. 
  • As far as the nutrition side of things, I have 2 snacks that I cannot get enough of! While I am not a big fan of prepackaged snacks (I.e. 100 calorie packs and what not) because of the unnecessary packaging and they are usually overpriced, these 2 snacks have me hooked. Both are protein packed, a little high on the sugar side (12 grams), but with not much other sugar in my diet, I am ok with it.

100 Calorie Cottage Cheese Doubles

GetImage.aspx

I am  big fan of cottage cheese, but after eating it for years, I needed to spice it up somehow, and these doubles by Breakstone did just the trick. They are 10 for 10 bucks at my grocery store, so you can beat it and just the right amount for a morning or afternoon snack.

Chobani Bites-Coffee with Chocolate bits

yog

I buy yogurt on and off for my husband and I, but lately we have been shying away from Greek yogurt, I think we went overboard with it and have now gotten sick of it.  I decided to take a chance with the 100 calorie Bites by Chobani and now I can’t get enough of them. They are the perfect dessert when you are craving something sweet but don’t want to over indulge. The only bummer part is I have only found them in 4 packs so they go quick!

What are you doing this lovely Wednesday?

Run On-

Leave a Reply

