randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

5 down…8 to go! Wallis Sands Beach Half Recap

on April 29, 2013

So begins my month of half marathon madness! Wallis Sands kicks off the first of five half marathons I will be running over the next 5 weeks. I am dealing with muscle tightness in the back of my right leg, which is making me a little uneasy, but I decided to take it “easy” with these races and listen to my body and not focus on time. Hopefully after a good massage on Thursday,  I will be back to 100% and ready to break that 2 hour mark!

photo(4)The Positives

The weather for this race was PERFECT! All of my sub zero races and training runs were worth it for the weather I had yesterday. It was amazing. The course started and ended at the beach, it was 48 degrees at the start of the race, blue skies, and no wind! To make this day even better, the course was flat and scenic. I had not realized how hilly all of my races have been to this point and enjoyed every mile of this course. Mile markers were clearly marked, with water stops about every 2.5 miles. I broke my own rule and wore my fuel belt, so no stops for me.

photo(3)

I was surprised how much better I liked not having to stop and walk through the water stops. It didn’t help my time much, but still I think I might continue wearing it as it was much more comfortable than my usual Nathan Shadow pack that I used for my Gu and keys.While I didn’t stop at any of the water stops, they were very festive. I found out this morning there was a contest for the best water stop. The groups really did a great job and gave it that big race feel for a small race.  The race was broken into 5 waves with about 100 runners per wave. I thought this was great! It really thinned out the runners and allowed for cars to pass safely.  My friend was running a race in a town near by so I was able to meet up with her after and enjoy a few beers. It was a perfect day for a few beers outside after a good run. Have I mentioned how great the weather was???

The Negatives

photo(2)

Not much to complain about, overall well organized and nice people, both runners and organizers. This was a no frills race, which I always enjoy but the bib numbers they had were like billboards! While it was a nice touch to have my name printed on the front, they were made out of a card stock and felt super bulky. I generally like to crumple my numbers so they move with you while you run, but it was not possible with this one!  A very minor complaint, but sometimes its the little things that can drive you bonkers for 13 miles!

Back up to Gloucester for the Twin Lights Half this coming Sunday. Looking forward to it!

Run On-

Leave a Reply

