randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Book Review: What I talk about…

on May 10, 2013

What I talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami

book

“But pain seems to be a precondition for this kind of sport. If pain weren’t involved, who in the world would ever go to the trouble of taking part in sports like the triatholon or the marathon, which demand such an investment of time and energy?”

So I have probably drawn out the review of this 179 page book waaaaay too long, but none the less, here is my recap!

As mentioned in a recent Thinkin’ post, What I talk About When I talk About Running by Haruki Murakami is a must for any long time runner. As I read it, I actually was thankful that I had started my blog before I read it, because there were so many similar thoughts that I would have felt like I was copying his book as I wrote each post.

Haruki is a writer by profession and running is his hobby. He was able to combine his two passions by writing this book and really giving a first hand view of  the many things that go into being a lifelong runner. His no fluff, to the point writing style was great and I found myself laughing at some parts that are probably only funny to us dorky runners including recording exact mileage for a whole month and the observations you make on your daily running route. The other part of this book that I liked so much was that as the reader you get to follow Haruki through his journey from being a bar owner who kept late hours and not the healthiest of lifestyles to running the original marathon course in Greece to competing in triathlons. If you are looking for a “How To” running book, this is not the right choice. Not once through this book, are you told you should run or you should run a certain way, this truly is just a summary of one runners passion for his sport. Will you feel inspired after this book? Absolutely! Maybe not so much that you will jump up and say I am going to go run 26.2 today, but more so that as a runner having an affirmation that you are a unique individual, that not everyone is going to understand, but those that do, definitely share the same passion.

But pain seems to be a precondition for this kind of sport. If pain weren’t involved, who in the world would ever go to the trouble of taking part in sports like the triatholon or the marathon, which demand such an investment of time and energy?

My favorite quote from the book:

“Long-distance running(more or less, for better or worse) has molded me into the person I am today, and I’m hoping it will remain a part of my life for as long as possible. I’ll be happy if running and I can grow old together.”

Leave a Reply

