randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

7 down…6 to go! Providence Half Recap

on May 13, 2013

I am over the hump! Am I really more than half way to my goal of 13 races this year?? It is hard to believe, but I must admit I am hitting a bit of a wall. While I am excited to reach the half way point, I still feel like there is still a long way to go and my body is feeling it. I think most runners hit this wall at some point during their training and I know it will pass. I have to stay focused on each week and break down the big picture and take one run at a time. On to the recap of this weekends race…

The United Healthcare Half Marathon is a BIG race, this was really my first big race since I have started this challenge, and I think I have become accustomed to the small scale race as I was annoyed with the amounts of people everywhere! Along with the half there was a full marathon happening along with a fitness expo. I knew ahead of time that I would be asked to pay for parking, which I find a little frustrating when you pay your race fees, but it was only $10, so I can’t complain too much. Despite the long number pick up and bathroom lines, both moved quickly and were organized well. Real bathrooms are always exciting!

The race began at 8a, or so I thought…runners began packing into the corals at 7:55 and we waited…and waited some more. The race did not begin until 8:20a! There was also a ton of security, which with recent events is to be expected…but between being packed in corals for close to 30 minutes, military people on top of buildings, bomb sniffing dogs all over the place, I definitely started to feel overwhelmed. I am totally fine with things coming up and not being able to completely control the start time, especially if it was for our safety, but communication from race staff would have been helpful!

Once the race got underway, I felt tight and just off…I did finally loosen up some, but for the most part I was uncomfortable most of the race and I think my body is starting to feel all of these consecutive races.  The course itself was nice, alot of great scenery with some pretty steady inclines mixed in. Weather wise it was extremely muggy, overcast, and then started to rain the last 3 miles. I am not going to complain at ALL about weather, as I feel I have been very lucky for all of my races. Because of the sogginess, there were no photo ops, but did snap a pic once I was home. This race takes the prize for cool medals and swag (a free reusable heat pack and first aid kit!), I am not usually into the swag, but this was a nice treat!

race7

While I am glad to put number 7 behind me, I am going to go with as much rest and stretching as I can this week to hopefully recharge the body for Newburyport this weekend. Hopefully I will be back on the up swing of this funk and be ready to attack number 8!

Run On-

Leave a Reply

