randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

8 down…5 to go! River Run Half Recap

on May 20, 2013

race8

Another race in the books! This one almost didn’t happen thanks to a major flat tire as I was about to leave for Newburyport, but thankfully my husband was home and we did a quick car swap! I can’t believe I really only have 1 more race in this 5 week stretch! On to the recap of this past weekends race…

I was fortunate enough to have ANOTHER great weather day, while it was a little on the warm side, the sun was out, there was a breeze and enough shady spots to give runners a break from the sun. I got an extra surprise by not only my best friend coming out to support, but my brother came out to cheer me on. It was nice boost and just what I needed!

jillnick

The River Run was a small race with just over 300 runners and relay option as well. The relay threw me for a loop as far as pacing with people flying by me in which I had to keep reminding myself they were only running 3 miles, not the full! Because of the small race the support was a little on the weak side…most water stations (there were only 3) had only one volunteer at them. It wasn’t a huge deal, but with the warmer temps, people were definitely wanting a little more support as far as water. There was no gatorade along the course, which again with the warmer temps would have been nice, but with the small race I guess the goal was to keep everything low key. The course was a great flat course with only 1 hill and alot of good scenery. The course was open, which was fine but there was also a huge bike event going on and another smaller race, which made for busy streets and alot of traffic.  Runners were friendly and I was asked several times about by shirt and my 13, 13.1’s goal…it was nice to chat with others along the course and because the races are beginning to blend together I was telling everyone this was my 7th race, when really it was my 8th, such a nice bonus when I finally realized it!

Back at the start/ finish area runners were given 2 beer tickets, 2 slices of pizza and a cup of chili. I didn’t cash in on any of these treats but a nice way to welcome the runners back. Before the race, the Portajon line was out of control…there were only 4 Portajons and WHOLE lot of runners needing to go.

porta2

I finished the day by going out to a post race lunch with my friend and brother and enjoying a Margarita and some nachos at Agave in downtown Newburyport. Overall a nice race and looking forward to running in my hometown for a great cause this coming weekend…Run to Remember here I come!

Run On-

Leave a Reply

