randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

9 down…4 to go! Run to Remember Recap

on May 28, 2013

runtorem

I did it! I ran 5 half marathons in a row! Looking back I can’t believe I have spent every Sunday of the last 5 weeks at a half marathon, but I did and I must say I do feel a little relief to have a break from the strict routine of the week leading up to each race. This past weekend I ran the Run to Remember in my home city of Boston! Here is the recap…

First, it was just so great to run a race 20 minutes from my house, while it has been great to run in different areas, running in my own backyard was great! The Run to Remember is run each year to honor police officers that have fallen in the line of duty, as you can imagine this year took on an extra special meaning. A special recognition to the victims of the marathon bombing and MIT officer, Sean Collier started off the race.  Security was heightened but for the most part I did not notice any extra delays or uncomfortable level of police presence.

This race was the first half marathon I ever ran 6 years ago, hard to believe the amount of miles I have completed since then, so I knew what I was in for as far as the course. It is a great out and back flat course that takes you along the Charles River and through downtown Boston.

The weather was cold and rainy starting out with temps in the 40’s, climbing to about 50 during the race. It was not the temperatures you would expect for late May, but it sure beat sweltering temps as this race has been known for in years past. I finally remembered to wear a throw away shirt (an old long sleeve shirt, that I toss off along the course and not worry about getting it back) which came in very handy. I finally felt warm around mile 7 and tossed it off.

It was very crowded, and a very slow start, there were many points during the course that got very narrow which forced all runners to slow to a crawl, which was a little frustrating, but I just tried to enjoy the run and not worry about time. I did run this race with a running friend, and it was great to have company along the run. It was amazing how much faster this race went by because I was running with someone. My friend is slightly faster than me, which kept me pushing my pace. We made up for a lot of time on the 2nd half of the race, but still I came in 12 seconds short of the under 2 hour mark. I was bummed, but looking back at what I did to make up time, I didn’t let it get the best of me. My husband also reminded me, that I just ran my 5th half marathon in a row and it was my 2nd fastest since I started this challenge…not bad.

My husband did come along to cheer me on, which was great, but unfortunately with the massive crowds, it was tough for him to see me finish, which is always a let down. I still appreciate the support and we were able to go to one of my favorite brunch spots after, Tavern on the Square, which I enjoyed a big Bloody Mary!

postrace

This race had a lot to look at along the course, and I think one of the most special pieces of the race was the half mile stretch of the course which Police Officers from all over Massachusetts stood outside their cruisers and high fived all the runners…very special.

Overall a fun race, and I can put #9 in the books, on to the Castle Awards Half in Seekonk, MA in 3 weeks, in the mean time bring on the Tough Mudder next weekend!

Run On-

Leave a Reply

