randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

A Wedding in Margaritaville

on June 18, 2013

2 years ago today, I got to marry my main squeeze! So todays post really doesn’t have anything to do with running and definitely falls into the “Random” category, but I did run ALOT leading up to my wedding day to help deal with the stress of our big day. While I am sure most couples wonder where the time goes from year to year, I can honestly say the last 2 years have been a whirlwind of an adventure starting with our wedding day on June 18th, 2011.

I had been with my husband almost 10 years when we got engaged. I was never into the whole idea of a big wedding and from the beginning I knew I wanted to keep it low key and get married in my most favorite place in the whole world, Key West. Plans were made, the date was set, and because I got this all done in the first few months of being engaged, I sat back and enjoyed being engaged. Fast forward to May 2011, where my husband landed his dream job which changed all of our future plans…including traveling to Key West to get married. While I was not about to wait until he was able to travel again, I had 2 weeks to regroup and figure out an alternative wedding. I am not one to look at the negative side of a situation (my high school yearbook quote was, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”) so I decided we were going to get married at the Jimmy Buffett Concert which was happening in just 2 weeks (If you read yesterday’s post, Buffett is a big deal). After everyone had gotten over the initial shock of our new wedding venue, everyone came together to make this happen. Justice of the Peace, Limo, RV, Wedding Outfits, we some how pulled it all together and along with 30,000 of our closest friends, we were married in the parking lot of the Comcast Center in Mansfield, MA before the Jimmy Buffett concert. It was a perfect day and truly defined what a wedding is about, it did not matter where we were were married, what the decor was, but that my Husband and I had the most perfect day surrounded by people who were happy for us, both family and complete strangers.

I still cannot tell my wedding “story” without smiling and I am not sure our unique story will ever get old. I could probably write about 5 more pages of details from the day, but I won’t bore you all! I have a ton of great memories from our day and I hope they don’t fade. One of my favorite was a few days before the wedding in the midst of the chaos my Dad said, “This is how I saw you getting married, you know, your way” While at first I questioned him envisioning me being married in front of an RV in a parking lot, but then I got it, I was doing this because I wanted it this way and no one else’s opinion mattered. We gave up a lot for my husbands new job including our honeymoon or really enjoying any time as newlyweds, but I would never wish it any other way, no honeymoon, no perfect wedding backdrop, could make up for our perfect day. Plus, who can say Jimmy Buffett played their reception? : )

wedding

Yes, that is a random person grabbing my Dad as we walked down the “aisle”

For anyone out there that might be dealing with wedding stress or planning speed bumps you may encounter, remember what you want and do not worry what others think, you are guaranteed to get a perfect day that is truly your own.

So here I am 2 years later and still so happy and amazed at what we have accomplished, new jobs, a new home, and a ton of fun along the way. On our wedding day, I asked my husband to promise me that we will laugh every day one way or another, and I can honestly say he has kept that promise. Bring on year 3!

“With you I would walk anywhere”

Run On-

Leave a Reply

