randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Cleanse? No thanks!

on August 13, 2013

I missed the original deadline for the 3rd discussion on Run with an Idea, I did want to share my thoughts, as I had just recently shared my experience with a liver cleanse. I can say very strongly that I am on Team HYPE side. While I think there can be some benefits to “resetting” your body, there really is never a reason to eat or drink only one type of food. I am still open to finding one that “really” makes me feel cleansed, but until then, I am skeptical. Here are a few reasons:

When has a human only eaten one type of food or only drink a liquid? When food was scarce there was still variety, there was a mix of protein, grains, etc. Of course there is different balances for different lifestyles, but still our bodies need many different nutrients from many different sources.

As someone who works out for over an hour a day, a cleanse is really hard to do. When I did mine, I am not really sure how I didn’t pass out, my energy was so low I knew it was doing more harm that good to my muscles.

How many people really stay reset AFTER a cleanse? Meaning, I have seen alot of my friend try different cleanses and while they loose 5lb in 2 days or what not, once the cleanse is over…back to their normal diet, which is not always the greatest.

As I said I am game to trying others especially if there is one for very active people…but for now I will stick with clean eating and living!

If you have been following the Run With an Idea series, it is a series of bi-weekly opinion blogs aimed to stimulate debate across a wide variety of bloggers covering a vast demographic and covering a range of health and fitness-related topics from the banal to the essential. We want to get you thinking about how opinions vary across the bloggosphere and we want to encourage you to openly discuss and debate at length. Share ideas. Share opinions. Debate is healthy.

Discussion is encouraged and REWARDED, check out below for this weeks giveaway:

The Innocent Smoothie Recipe Book has 57 (and a half!) delicious recipes for smoothies and juices, from old favourites to new recipes from proper foodies like Jamie Oliver. If you are curious about juicing or just want some new drink ideas, then this is a brilliant book for you.

Entering the competition couldn’t be easier, simply leave a comment on any one of our bloggers’ Juice Cleanse debate posts letting them know what you think. You can find a list of all the posts at our Link Up here

T’s & C’s 
No purchase necessary. To be a valid ‘entry’ a comment must be submitted & published on any of the blogs listed in the InLinkz link up of our third debate before the closing date – publishing of comments is at the blog owner’s discretion. Giveaway period starts Friday 6th August 2013 6:00 am GMT and ends Tuesday 20th  August 2013 at 11:59 pm GMT. No geographical restrictions – the entire world counts! One copy of the Innocent Smoothie Recipe Book available with a £12.99 value, no cash alternative. The winner will be selected by means of a vote by all of the bloggers involved in this debate which will be carried out on our top secret Facebook planning & discussion group. Winner will be published via this blog no earlier than the giveaway deadline and no later than Thursday 22nd August 2013 6:00 pm GMT.

Run On-

2 responses to “Cleanse? No thanks!

  1. I’m with you in ‘Team Hype’. We aren’t hummingbirds needing a nectar-like diet! A sensible diet balanced with exercise will keep you healthy and ticking over, without the need for drastic intervention.
    However, I know it works for some people, just read Neil’s post on Year Without Beer, but I htink these are the exception, not the norm!

    • I think that is why I still have a small sliver of interest still, I hear these cleanses that work so I think, maybe I just need to find the right one for me? But just like any nutrition or fitness plan, it will work differently for every person. Neil’s post definitely peaked my interest!

Leave a Reply

