randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

Lovin’ My Vita-Mix

on September 2, 2013

20130902-152725.jpg

So while 30 was not a birthday I was looking forward to, I did get a Vita-mix for my birthday which did soften the blow of feeling really old.

I have been eyeing the Vita-mix for a few years, but could not bring myself to spend that much on a blender, but my family grouped together and all went in on Vita-mix Turboblend Two Speed. You may remember my Smoothie Quest during Lent and I continue to make smoothies to get a boost of fruits and veggies in one hit. Was it worth the wait and the cost?

ABSOLUTELY! I love the thing, my husband was skeptical that it really could be that much different than our old Oster 10 Speed, but I made him a believer after my first batch of Pina Coladas.

The Vita-Mix is easy to clean and is built to last, there is no unscrewing the bottom or taking it all apart to clean it. The one down side…its huge! The base requires a small crane to get it out (probably due to the powerful motor) and is too big to keep on the counter, but a minor complaint for all the good things it does!

I have only ventured into smoothies and Pina Coladas, but there are still alot of things I am excited to blend, heck I think this thing could make a whole meal if I put my mind to it.

So the bottom line, if you blend alot of things, a Vita-Mix is worth it!

Here is my latest smoothie thanks to Cooking Light:

1 Mango peeled and sliced (I freeze it the night before)

3-4 Ice Cubes

3/4 Cup Non-fat Vanilla Yogurt

1/2 cup Skim milk

1/2 Tbsp Honey

Sprinkle of Flax Seed

A little water depending on what consistency you like

Blend all together and enjoy!

Run On-

 

Leave a Reply

