randomthoughtrunning

Running 13, 13.1's in 2013 and the thoughts along the way!

13 down…0 to go!

on October 14, 2013

So it has been a month, A WHOLE MONTH since I completed my 13th half and I have yet to write about it! I am so mad at myself and to have come this far and not wrap it up in writing, I just didn’t feel I really had accomplished my goal. So here it is my final race recap, to make this even more frustrating, I wrote this post a month ago and just have not gotten around to posting it! I can make up excuses, blame my new job and having about a million and one things going on, but rather, I will just post it. I still accomplished my goal and feel very good about it, but like any crazy runner, I am already itching for whats next…but I am forcing myself to enjoy some time of just running to run rather than having a race every weekend.

I have set a goal for myself to post on here once a week for the rest of the year. I still have the Spartan race in November and plenty of random thoughts still in my head waiting to be blogged about, but for now here is race recap #13!

13drinks

Here it is almost one-week post challenge and I have not even written about it! I did it, I ran 13 half marathons in 2013 and its only September! It is a little surreal to be writing this post, its amazing how fast it came, but at the same time how long ago it was that I stood in Central Park freezing my A** off!

My final race was not my best, actually overall it was one of my roughest races, but the fact that it was my last one, I made the best of it.

Boston 13.1 was held in East Boston. The venue was very organized and simple to get to. There were tons of bathrooms and pretty good swag. The course was very flat, almost too flat, I know I know crazy to say, but when courses have no elevation at all, my knees start to bother me, my feet hurt, etc. I like a little rolling hill mixed into any course. The course itself was very scenic, awesome ocean views and the weather was perfect! This was a BIG race, there were close to 1500 runners. As for spectating, I had a good crew to cheer me on in the final race and there were plenty of viewing spots for them.

Post race, there was much buzz about the beer garden and band that would be playing, BUT they couldn’t serve or open the garden until 10:30! It was a bummer, but decided to stick it out. By the time, I changed and recharged a little bit, it wasn’t that long of a wait. The post race party was great EXCEPT that each runner was given a beer ticket, great right? Of course, but no one else was able to drink beer. Meaning my cheering crew had to stand and watch me drink my one beer. I had never seen anything like it, and for such a bit post race party no one was staying around. It seemed like such a waste, who wants to stand around while one person drinks? Not us!

cheer

We decided to venture out in the neighborhood and found a decent brunch spot, toasted with Bloody Mary’s and had a great morning.  Overall, the Boston 13.1 was a good race; I would definitely consider it again!

So this is it, my last race recap…it really feels like the day after Christmas, as much as I was looking forward to accomplishing this goal, I am sad that its over. So while I plan on recapping the year (within the next week, really!) and doing a few more posts to wrap this up and maybe brainstorm a few ideas as to what is next, until then…

numbers13

Run On-

4 responses to “13 down…0 to go!

  1. Marta Van Ranst says:

    awesome Shannon! love the shot of the group beer, what a cheering section!

  2. Joey says:

    How are you going to top this year, next year?

Leave a Reply

